Jinzo Vs. Trap Hole

Submitted by Dcowsert on Tue, 06/26/2012 - 02:37

I always played thinking no trap card can touch jinzo when i initially summon it. A friend of mine swears that a trap hole or similar trap card can kill it when it's first summoned. The rulebook's too vague to help me with something like this.Does anyone have a verifiable answer to this?

In addition, Xing Zhen Hu. If it selects two cards and one of the selected cards is a counter trap that destroys trap cards (i.e. seven tools of the bandit), am i unable to use the selected card to kill Xing Zhen Hu?

Comments

Submitted by Kingk7 on Sat, 06/30/2012 - 20:32

Since Jinzo's effect never activates, but is a permanent effect, unless his effect is negated or cancelled first, trap hole cannot be used against him because it activates in response to his summon. As soon as Jinzo hits the field, trap cards are completely useless until his effects are negated by something else, he is destroyed, or he's removed from the field.
In response to Xing Zhen Hu, once its activated your opponent has the opportunity to counter this with a higher spell speed, such as a counter trap. Thus, if seven tools of the bandit was activated on
Xing Zhen Hu, the latter would be negated and destroyed before its effect would activate.

Submitted by Terras on Sat, 06/30/2012 - 21:00

The reason trap hole doesn't work against jinzo is because trap hole is used after a summon is resolved, so it's effect would already be active. It's essentially the same as using remove trap on Imperial Order. The effect has already resolved, so there's no stopping it now.

That's why you need to stop the summon of Jinzo from resolving with something like Horn of Heaven.
Xing Zhen Hu is the same. you can't use remove trap on it after it's resolved, but before it resolves, you can use mystical space typhoon.

Submitted by Terras on Sat, 06/30/2012 - 21:02

Edit note: My spell references for Xing Zhen Hu obviously refer to spells targeted by it, as it has no effect on other spells/traps.

Submitted by Dcowsert on Thu, 07/05/2012 - 11:26

That's what I had originally thought. Thank you both for responding to my plight!